Election Commission to announce dates for Karnataka Assembly elections today

karnataka assembly election 2018

Karnataka Election: The Election Commission is likely to announce the polling schedule for Assembly elections in Karnataka today at 11 am. The term of the current 224-member legislative Assembly ends on May 28.

The elections in Karnataka are due to be conducted in late April or early May. As per sources, the elections in Karnataka may be held in two phases.

Karnataka is the only major state where the Congress is in power at present and retaining it is crucial for the party morale ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

Election  commision of India
There is lot at stake for both Congress and the BJP going into Karnataka Assembly Polls. For the BJP, a win in Karnataka will come as a huge boost ahead national election due in 2019. For the Congress, retaining Karnataka is vital at a time when it has lost its grip on much of India.

The Karnataka Assembly elections 2018 are important the Congress party, currently in power in the state, as this is the last big state where it is still in power after losing a string of Assembly elections to the BJP in the past few years. It is also important for the BJP, which will be trying to unseat the Congress and push its call for Çongress-mukt Bharat’.

After BJP came to power in 2014, it has won in states like Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Assam and Manipur by reducing the Congress to just four states.

In a blow to JD(S) headed by former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda, seven party rebel former MLAs on Sunday joined the ruling Congress in the presence of party president Rahul Gandhi.

The rebel MLAs had resigned from Karnataka legislative assembly on Saturday, a day after they cross-voted in favour of the Congress candidates in the March 23 Rajya Sabha biennial election in the state. Zameer Ahmed Khan, Chaluvaraya Swamy, Iqbal Ansari, Balakrishna, Ramesh Bandisiddegowda, Bheema Nayak and Akhanda Srinivas Murthy were welcomed into the party fold by Gandhi at a public rally here in the poll-bound Karnataka.

Along with them, former JDS MLCs M C Nanaiah, Sarovar Srinivas and B Ramakrishna also joined the Congress.


Karnataka Electiomn 2018Also read: Sonia Gandhi rushed back to Delhi from Shimla


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here