IPL 11: Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Sunrisers Hyderabad to remain in play-off contention


IPL 11: Royal Challengers Bangalore defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad by 14 runs in the 51st edition of IPL season 11. The match played at Bangalore’s M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Royal Challengers Bangalore scored 218 runs in 20 overs losing 6 wickets and set 219 for Sunrisers Hyderabad to win.  Sunrisers Hyderabad made 204 runs in 20 overs and Bengaluru won the match.

Captain Ken Williamson hit a 81-run innings for Hyderabad, for which he faced 42 balls and hit seven fours and five sixes. Apart from them, Manish Pandey scored an unbeaten 62 in 38 balls with seven fours and two sixes, and Alex Hales scored 37 runs in 24 balls with two fours and three sixes. Royal Challengers Bangalore kept themselves in the playoffs race. Sunrisers Hyderabad, having won nine matches, had made a place in the playoff before 18 points and they are in the top of the points table.


Now, in RCB’s 13 matches, it has 12 points from six wins and it has reached fifth place. Four teams, including RCB, Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai Indians, are in the race for the next round with 12-12 points. Shikhar Dhawan (18) and Alex Hales (37) added 47 runs for the first wicket to Hyderabad. Yuzvendra Chahal caught Dhawan on his first ball in the sixth over and gave the first blow to the visiting team.

Heals quickly with the captain and scored 64 runs in eight overs for the team. On Ali’s last ball of the same over, De Villiers gave Bangalore the second catches by catching Hales’s catchy catches. From here, Williamson continued to accumulate runs with Manish and kept the team on the winning path. Both played 135 runs in 67 balls for the third wicket. Although the target proved more than the two of these, and the team failed to make the required runs in the last over.


By batting first, Royal Challengers Bangalore scored 218 runs losing 6 wickets in 20 overs and set 219 for Sunrisers Hyderabad to win. Bowling Hyderabad, which is considered to be strong in this whole season, has remained unstoppable in the match against AB de Villiers, Moin Ali and Colin de Grandhom.

De Villiers scored 69 runs in 39 balls with 12 fours and a six. Ali also scored 65 runs in 34 balls with six fours and two fours in his account. Colin finally scored 40 runs in 17 balls including one four and four sixes. Rashid Khan took three wickets from Hyderabad. Siddharth Kaul got two successes.

Royal Challengers Bangalore started well, and in the first over, the team got the first blow as Parthiv Patel. When Sandeep Sharma got him out caught by Siddharth Kaul. Parthiv Patel was run out by 1 run. In the fifth over, Bangalore’s team got a second blow, when Virat Kohli get bold on Rashid Khan’s ball. Virat Kohli scored 12 runs. In his innings, he scored two boundaries.


Earlier, Hyderabad captain Ken Williamson won the toss and decided to bowl and invited the Royal Challengers Bangalore to bat first. Hyderabad has made a change in its playing XI. Basil Thampi has been included in place of Bhubaneswar Kumar. Apart from this, there is no change in the playing XI of Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Playing XI:

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (Captain), Parthiv Patel (wicketkeeper), Moin Ali, AB de Villiers, Mandeep Singh, Colin de Grandhom, Sarfaraz Khan, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Siraj and Yuswendra Chahal

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (captain), Alex Hales, Shikhar Dhawan, Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Deepak Hooda, Shreevats Goswami (wicketkeeper), Rashid Khan, Basil Thampi, Siddharth Kaul and Sandeep Sharma.

IPL-11 RCB VS SRH 3Also read: 4 big changes in the rules of IPL 2018!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here