Top 10 Awards given by Indian Government

national awards

Indian government honors its citizen for the contribution made by them in different fields by giving them various Awards . 

Here’s a list of top Ten Awards given by Indian Goverment.

  • Bharat Ratna
    •  Bharat Ratna award being the most prestigious award, This award is given to the citizens of India who have done extraordinary and incomparable performance in the fields of literature, science, sports, social work and art. This award is made in the shape of yellow leaf, on which the sun is also printed.
      Bharat Ratna is written in the Devanagari script on the yellow leaf. The award was first given to three citizens in 1954.
    • Nelson Mandela, Sachin Tendulkar, Mother Teresa, Satyajit Ray, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Indira Gandhi and many other citizens are among some famous citizens who have received this award.
    • Bharat_Ratna
  • Padma Vibhushan  
  • Padma Vibhushan This is India’s second largest civilian honor, which is given for extraordinary and prestigious service in any field, including the service provided by government employees. This award is of round shape, on which the Padma is held.
  • The award has ‘Satyamev Jayate’ written on it in Devanagri script.

The award was instituted in 1954 and was first awarded to Nand Lal Bose, B.G. Kher and V. K. Menon, Sachin Tendulkar is the youngest person to get this famous award, who has done exceptionally well in Indian cricket.


  • Padma Bhushan

This is the third highest civilian award in India, which is awarded to the citizen of India who has rendered the highest standard of service to the nation in any field. The award was instituted by the first President of India, Rajendra Prasad on 2 January 1954.

The design of this award is similar to the Padma Vibhushan award. Radha Krishnan Gupta, Amar Nath Jha and M.S. Subbalakshmi were the first to receive this award.


  • Padma Shri

Being the fourth highest award in the country, this award was instituted in 1954 and ‘Padma Shri’ is written on it in Devanagari script.

This award is adorned with stainless steel and given to citizens of India in recognition of their extraordinary contribution in various fields including medicine, education, public affairs, arts, science, literature etc.

This award is announced every year on Republic Day. Till now 2913 people have been honored with this award.


  • Param Vir Chakra

This is the highest military award given to the army personnel of the country. This award is given for the bravery to the army staff who wish to give their lives in battle.

In most cases, this honor has been given posthumously. This award was established on January 26, 1950 when the Republic of India was declared. Officials or employees of any part of the Indian Army are eligible for this award and it is considered the most prestigious award after the country’s highest honor Bharat Ratna. Earlier, when the Indian army used to work under the British Army, the highest honor of the army was Victoria Cross.


  • Arjuna Award

This award is given by the Government of India to the player who performs best in the field of sports.

It was started in 1961 and along with this award Arjuna’s bronze statue and cash amount are also given. To get this award, the player of any sport should perform best in the last three years.


  • Dadasaheb Phalke Award

This is the best award in the field of cinema and generally this award is given during the National Film Awards. The citizens receiving this are mostly associated with the film industry and this award is given to them in view of their contribution to Indian cinema.

This award has been given to many great personalities like Dilip Kumar, Dev Anand, Asha Bhosle.



  • Ashok Chakra

Ashoka Chakra is the highest peace award, given to the military personnel in view of their courage and sacrifice. This award is equal to the Param Vir Chakra. This award can also be given to the general citizen.


  • Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Award

This Award is given on the basis of contributions made in the fields of science such as Pharmaceuticals, Chemistry, Engineering, Biology etc.

It was first started in 1969 and a medal is given in this award, which is made up of golden lotus and cash is also given along with it.
Shashi Kapoor, Lata Mangeshkar, Yash Chopra, Manoj Kumar, Asha Bhosle etc. have been honored with this award.

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award

  • Sahitya Akademi Award

This is the best literary award, which is given to writers for their incomparable contribution in the field of literature. Cash award is also included in this award.
Its plaque is designed by the famous filmmaker Satyajit Ray.

Sahitya Akademi Award

All of the above are our country’s highest award, which is given after seeing the extraordinary performance done by the citizens in various fields.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here